How to Clear The History On An iPad

by David Weedmark Google
    Back up photos and other important data before clearing the iPad.

    Back up photos and other important data before clearing the iPad.

    Cameron Spencer/Getty Images Entertainment/Getty Images

    The Apple iPad gives you a few options for clearing history from the device. You can clear the history, data and cookies from Safari, the iPad's Web browser, without affecting any other data. To delete the history from most other apps, you can simply delete the app and then reinstall it from the App Store, without needing any other steps. You can also delete all the data and settings from the iPad and then restore the data you want to keep or start using the iPad again from scratch.

    Clearing Browser History

    Step 1

    Tap the "Settings" icon on the iPad home screen. Tap "Safari."

    Step 2

    Select "Clear History" to erase the website history from Safari.

    Step 3

    Select "Clear Cookies and Data" to erase all cookies from Safari.

    Step 4

    Select "Advanced" at the bottom of the page and then select "Website Data." Scroll to the bottom of the page and tap the red "Remove All Website Data" button. This clears everything from Safari.

    Preparing to Clear All Content and Settings

    Step 1

    Ensure that the iPad is within range of a Wi-Fi network.

    Step 2

    Activate iCloud if you haven't done so already. Tap the "Settings" icon. Select "iCloud" and follow the onscreen instructions to set up iCloud.

    Step 3

    Navigate to the iCloud settings page by tapping "Settings" and then "iCloud." Tap the "On/Off" button beside each menu item to select what you want to back up and what you don't. Options include Mail, Contacts, Calendars, Bookmarks, Photo Stream and several others.

    Step 4

    Tap "Storage and Backup" at the bottom of the iCloud page.

    Step 5

    Activate "iCloud Backup" by swiping the "On/Off" button to the "On" position.

    Step 6

    Tap the "Back Up Now" button. Wait for the iPad to transfer your selected options to iCloud.

    Clearing all Content and Settings

    Step 1

    Ensure that the iPad is fully charged. If the iPad battery runs out while deleting all content and settings, the iPad may become inoperable and require a full restore.

    Step 2

    Tap "Settings" on the iPad home screen. Tap "General."

    Step 3

    Scroll to the bottom of the page and tap "Reset."

    Step 4

    Select "Erase All Content and Settings." Wait for the iPad to delete all content and settings from its memory. This may take several minutes.

    Step 5

    Swipe the "Set Up iPad" slider. Select "Set Up as a New iPad" if you do not want to restore any content or settings. Select "Restore from iCloud Backup" to restore items you saved to iCloud during the last back up.

    Tips

    • Some applications allow you to clear all history within the app. In the YouTube app, for example, tap the "More" button, select "History" and then tap the "Clear" button.

    Warnings

    • You will lose all data if you don't back up the iPad before clearing its content and settings.

    About the Author

    David Weedmark's articles have appeared in dozens of publications since 1989, including "The Windsor Star" and "The Ottawa Citizen." As well as being a technology consultant, he is the author of several books, including "The Tanglewood Murders." Weedmark studied English at the University of Toronto.

    Photo Credits

    • Cameron Spencer/Getty Images Entertainment/Getty Images